President Muhammadu Buhari has refused to react to speculations that United States President, Donald Trump, plans to place a visa restriction on Nigeria.

YaahooJournalist reports that Trump is set to sign an executive order expanding visa restrictions to seven countries.

Apart from Nigeria, the other countries included by Trump are Eritrea, Belarus, Sudan, Tanzania, Krygyzstan, and Myanmar.

President Trump won’t place a full ban on these countries, as the ban is on certain types of visas such as the business or visitors visa popularly referred to as B1/B2 visa type.

YaahooJournalist learned that the new travel restriction will be announced next Monday, which would mark the third-year anniversary of the first travel ban.

However, in a statement on Wednesday, Garba Shehu, the Senior Special Assistant to the President on Media and Publicity, said: “Yes we have read the news that the Trump administration is planning to add a host of African, Asian and Eastern European countries to its travel restrictions list as reported by the US media.

“We are not going to react to speculations. We urge you to wait for us to see what unfolds under the new policy, its scope, its reach, the implications and its consequences before we react.”

Facebook Comments