BREAKING: Two Top Politicians Dump PDP For APC

Two top politicians have dumped PDP for APC.

Newsone reports that two lawmakers in the Anambra House of Assembly, Anambra State, southeast Nigeria, have defected from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Nigeria’s main opposition party to the All Progressives Congress (APC), the nation’s ruling party.

This online news platform understands that the two top politicians announced their defection at plenary in Awka, on Wednesday, October 6, 2021.

Newsone reports that two lawmakers in the Anambra House of Assembly are Mr Onyebuchi Offor (Ekwusigo Constituency), and Mr Douglas Egbuna, (Onitsha North l Constituency).

Offor, who was also the Minority Leader of the House, said that he consulted widely with his family and mentor on his decision to move from PDP to the APC.

“It is time I join the party at the centre so that my constituents can feel and experience the presence of the ruling party,” he said. Egbuna also explained that he defected to the APC after several consultations.

Uche Okafor, the Speaker of the Anambra House of Assembly, while congratulating the lawmakers, wished them well in their new party.

Newsone recalls that on September 21, four lawmakers elected on the platform of All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA), in the state Assembly, also defected to the APC.

The lawmakers include Mr Lawrence Ezeudu, (Dunukofia), Dr Timothy Ifedioranma, (Njikoka l), Dr Carter Dike-Umeh, (Aguata l) and Mr Smart Okafor, (Nnewi North).

Meanwhile, Newsone Nigeria reports that APC now has six members, leaving PDP with four members, while APGA has 20 members in the Assembly with the defection of the lawmakers.

Facebook Comments