Live Updates: APC Presidential Primaries Results [Video]

Live updates of APC Presidential Primaries Results can be accessed below.

Newsone reports that the Special Convention of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Nigeria’s ruling party, commenced on Tuesday, June 7, 2022, at Eagles Square in Abuja, Nigeria’s capital.

This online news platform understands that the APC Special Convention 2022 is to see APC delegates elect a flagbearer otherwise known as the APC Presidential Candidate for the 2023 Election.

Newsone Nigeria reports that more than 2,300 APC delegates will select a candidate to face 75-year-old Atiku Abubakar of the opposition People’s Democratic Party among others in the February 25 presidential ballot.

President Buhari, who is stepping down after the two terms he is allowed in the constitution, arrived at the Eagle Square convention centre early in the evening before voting was to start.

The Nigerian leader has spent days leading up to the convention in negotiations with the APC’s leaders seeking unity over a party candidate.

“The fate of the party depends on what we do here,” APC party chairman Abdullahi Adamu said, echoing Buhari’s call for unity in the ranks.

So far only twelve APC Presidential aspirants are contesting for the APC Presidential ticket after some stepped down and others withdrew from the APC Presidential Primary Election at the APC Convention 2022.

Those contesting the APC Presidential Primary are:

1) Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu

2) Sen. Ahmad Lawan

3) Sen. Sanni Yerima

4) Professor Ben Ayade

5) Dr. Ogbonaya Onu

6) Pastor Tunde Bakare

7) Rt. Hon. Rotimi Amaechi

8) Sen. Rochas Okorocha

9) Alhaji Yahaya Bello

10) Mr. Jack Rich Tien

11) Mr. Ikeobasi Mokhelu

12) Professor Yemi Osinbajo.

Eight aspirants stepped down for Bola Tinubu, the National Leader of the All Progressives Congress (APC), while only one stepped down for Vice President Yemi Osinbajo.

APC Aspirants that stepped down for Tinubu are:

1) Alhaji Badaru Abubakar

2) Sen. Ibikunle Amosun

3) Sen. Ajayi Borrofice

4) Rt. Hon. Dimeji Bankole

5) Sen. Godswill Akpabio

6) Dr. Kayode Fayemi

7) Barr. (Mrs.) Uju Kennedy

Only APC Aspirant that stepped down for Osinbajo is:

1) Dr. Nicholas Felix.

Breakdown of APC Presidential Primaries Results

Bola Ahmed Tinubu 1,271
Rotimi Amaechi 316
Yemi Osibanjo 235
Ahmed Lawal 152
Yahaya Bello 47
Dave Umahi 38
Ben Ayade 37
Ahmed Sani 4.
Onu – 1.
Ike Obasi – 0
Rochas Okorocha – 0
Pastor Tunde Bakare – 0
Void Votes – 8.

9:52 AM: Bola Tinubu wins first ballot box at APC Presidential Primaries.

Tinubu pocketed the first box with over 200 votes ahead of his contenders, Osinbajo, Amaechi, and Lawan.

Tinubu : 208
Amaechi : 28
Osinbajo : 21
Lawan : 6
Yahaya : 5.