Connect with us


See Complete List Of AFCON 2021 Award Winners



See Complete List Of AFCON 2021 Award Winners

AFCON 2021 award winners can be accessed below.

Newsone had reported earlier that Liverpool midfielder Sadio Mane scored the winning spot-kick – after missing one in the opening minutes of the game – as Senegal claimed their first Africa Cup of Nations title with a 4-2 penalty shoot-out victory over seven-time winners Egypt on Sunday, February 6, 2022.

This online news platform understands that the Liverpool midfielder stepped up to make history for the West African nation on Sunday at the Olembe Stadium in Cameroon’s Yaounde, and banished the memories of the team’s failure when they lost the final to Algeria two years ago.

Also, Chelsea Football Club first choice goalkeeper Edouard Mendy saved from Mohanad Lasheen in the shoot-out to allow Mane the chance to seal the win and gain just reward for Senegal, who had been by far the better side in the final but spurned numerous opportunities to win the game.

The silver winning Egypt had their goalkeeper Mohamed Abo Gabal to thank for getting them into the shoot-out as he was outstanding in keeping Senegal at bay in what was the fourth time in as many games they had played extra time in energy-sapping conditions.

Complete List Of AFCON 2021 Award Winners

Best goalkeeper: Edouard Mendy [Senegal].

Highest goals scorer: Vincent Abubarka [Cameroon].

Most valuable player of the tournament: Sadio Mané [Senegal].

AFCON Final Man of The Match: Mohamed Abou Gabal ‘Gabaski’ [Egypt]